The 90’s tag (Zoella/Tanya Burr tag)

The 90's Tag

So the other day, instead of studying, I watched couple of videos on Youtube. One of them was a Zoella/ Tanya Burr collaboration called the 90’s tag, thus the name of this article, and I loved the idea of looking back at their childhood so I decided to do the tag. As I think I mentioned before I come from the Czech Republic so I think that my childhood was a bit different from the American or British one. Back then kids in here had different toys from kids in the States or Britain, we were a bit behind in these terms, so I think this might be interesting, and who wouldn’t love a sentimental minute. If you’re interested in the original video, just click the link.

So let’s crack on with the show, shall we?

First question.

Favorite Disney film.

For this one I will go with a classic, that I completely adored when I was a kid, I mean I loved it to the point of being able to recite whole passages without any hesitation…and the movie is… “Lady and the Tramp”.  God how I loved that movie. My favorite scene is the cheesiest scene ever put on green and that is the spaghetti eating one. Let’s watch it again, for like the billionth time.

Question #2.

Favorite music artist.

Now this one is a tough one. It hasn’t been that long ago when I found the power of music. I don’t think I was a big music fan till I was about 14 years old, but I do remember listening to some music that my parents liked. I’d say that my favorite memory related to music is falling asleep to the selection of Marilyn Monroe’s biggest hits, well usually I didn’t get pass the first song which was “I Wanna Be Loved by You“ But it was, and still is, a good song.

Question #3.

Favorite candy.

I’m trying really hard to remember what candy we had when I was a kid. Let me see, we had “the cat tongues“, which were slips of chocolate, no we didn’t eat cat tongues, sorry to disappoint you, we also had the Maoams, which I’m sure all of you know by now, but what else. I don’t know, I guess I didn’t really have a sweet tooth because otherwise I would remember my favorite candy.

Question #4.

Favorite games – board games/ school games.

Except like card games I loved the game “Guess who“, I was a pro at that game. You guys remember it? I think they still make it. It’s like you pick a card with a character and your opponent has to guess which character you picked so they ask questions and by elimination they come to the right answer, whoever gets the answer first won. I was amazing at this game; I knew what questions to ask to eliminate the most of the characters. I miss the game; I have to play it with my friend B when she gets back from UNI. And for school games, I loved me some old school dodgeball. We spend hours and hours of recess playing dodgeball.

Question #5.

Favorite Happy Meal toy.

For this one I have a clear answer. My favorite Happy Meal toy was the Snoopy collection, I have to admit I have all of them, but not because I went to McDonald’s so often but because a friend of ours used to work there, so she would take the extra toys every week and give them to me. I still have them, I loved them so much that I just can’t let go.

Question #6.

Favorite book.

Honestly I loved so many books when I was a kid, and even today I can’t choose just one favorite book. So there’s several books I enjoyed when I was a kid, first on is a Czech book, that not that many people know, and that’s “Tři banány“, or “Three Bananas“ as it would be in English, and honestly I don’t really remember what it was about, I just remember that I loved the smell of that book. I think it was the printing pain they used, but the book had this amazing, unusual smell, and I just loved that book. I still have it so I think I should give it a go this summer and see if I can still enjoy it at this age. Another book I loved was “Where the Wild Things Are“, I loved the art in this book, I remember just flipping the pages looking at Max’s room turning into a forest and wishing my room could do that. And of course my last mention has to be Harry Potter, which kid hadn’t read this one. The first Harry Potter book came out in Czech at the very end of the 90’s, but still it was the 90’s, and this series went with me throughout my school years, now I’m ashamed to admit that I still haven’t finished the series but I will, I promise, it will happen soon.

Question #7.

Favorite clothing store.

I don’t really remember if I even had any favorite clothing store. I can’t even recall any clothing store that was open when I was a kid. So sorry guys, I don’t really have an answer for this one.

Question #8.

Favorite show.

My ultimate favorite show of all time is hands down, FRIENDS. I loved them when I was a kid and I love them now, like who wouldn’t. I know it’s not a kids‘ show, but my parents didn’t really allow me to watt those shows, cause they felt like they treated kids like little idiom, so I don’t really know any shows for kids. But FRIENDS, come on they are hilarious, they were hilarious then and they are hilarious now. I’d say that most Czech kids know this show; they used to air an episode every week night at like 7:30 so it was right before my bed time and it was perfect. I learned my first French sentence in this show, who wouldn’t love Joey struggling with the basic sentence “Je m’appelle Claude“ I think I’ll stop writing now and just go watt some FRIENDS episode.  I can’t believe it’s been over twenty years since the first episode aired.

Question #9.

What would you do when you got home from school?

That’s a tricky one. I don’t know about you, but when I was a kid I had tons of extracurricular things I did every afternoon. Like I had English classes, I had swimming practice, there was tennis practice, like there wasn’t a day when I would go straight home after school, but once I got home I’d sleep, just like I do now. I and my bed is the true love story of my life, and as they say my bed is my warmest hello and my hardest goodbye.

And last one, which isn’t in the original video, question #10.

What you wanted to do when you grew up?

So when I was a kid I wanted to be a lawyer. You know those ones in the American TV shows, those tough guys? Yeah I wanted to be one of those guys, I don’t really know why but I just loved how confident they looked and how tough they were. Well that didn’t happen, sorry to break it to you younger me.

And that’s it for this tag. How about you? What do you recall from your childhood, please share your memories in the comments below and let’s be sentimental together.

WRITTEN BY SÁRA

2 thoughts on “The 90’s tag (Zoella/Tanya Burr tag)

  1. Pingback: The 90’s Tag |

Leave a Reply

