Unpopular Opinions Book tag

Unpopular Opinions Book tag

Yet again here I am with another book tag. You know how much I love books and tags, so why not put these things together. Well this week I am here with The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag. Basically I got here a bunch of questions about my opinion on books that are not commonly shared with the majority of book people, hence the title unpopular. Simply put I get to say what I think about books and risk that some book people, majority of book people, might want to hunt me down and kill me, should be fun, so here we go.

Question #1

A popular book or series that you didn’t like.

I am prepared to receive so much hate for my answer for this first question but I am going to stand by it. The one book that I hate but everybody seems to love is one of the classics, 1984 by George Orwell. Growing up I felt like 1984 was one of those books that everybody should read, but once I actually read it I was so disappointed. It was more of a love story than anything else, and the characters were so mediocre. I got my hands on a copy from 1983 published here in Czechoslovakia. You might be asking what is so special about that edition. Well the thing is that 1984 was banned in the communist Czechoslovakia. You might have gotten your ass to prison if someone saw you associating yourself with the book, and my folks happen to be one of those people who got their hands on a copy. So it was a big deal. The situation in Czechoslovakia was actually pretty close to the situation in the book, so with all this in the end the book was a disappointment.

George Orwell - 1984

Question #2

A popular book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love.

I cannot really find a series that I love and everybody hates, but I found two series that I love and not enough people talk about, and they are Darkest Powers and Darkness Rising by Kelley Armstrong. Basically the two series take place in the same setting but with different characters. The premise is that there is a secret biotech research group that gave several kids special powers, but now they are hunting them down. In Darkest Powers some of the special kids get locked up at a group home for troubled youth, Darkness rising is all on a run. The two series are amazing and I love them so much and definitely not enough people are talking about them.

Question #3

A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with or an OTP that you don’t like.

For this one I have a fast answer. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. I am sorry you all, but I was on Team Jacob, like hardcore. I was very frustrated throughout the story. I just do not feel Edward, it is simple he is kind of empty, always thinking how he is the victim or something.

Stephenie Mayer - Twilight

Question #4

A popular book genre that you hardly reach for.

I guess Historical Fiction is not much on my repertoire. I do not really know why. I heard so much good things about several Historical Fiction books, I just do not seem to reach for this genre. But I am quite intrigued by All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, so I will be reaching to these unknown waters pretty soon, or at least I hope I will.

Anthony Doerr - All The Light We Cannot See

Question #5

A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

OMG so many people will hate me for this but I have to say Jem Carstairs. I do not know what it was about him, but I just could not connect. He was nice and patient and a good friend to Will, but for me he kind of lacked passion or some fire inside him, I know that this is what makes his character but he just was not a pal for me.

Cassandra Clare - Clockwork Prince

Question #6

A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

This one has to be Haruki Murakami. I did read his Norwegian Wood, but I was not seriously impressed. I tried several of his other books but could never get further than like 20 pages in. I do not know much about Japanese culture or their history so I might just not get the cultural references but I get bored with his books. Do not get me wrong I am banning them forever, I will try to finish some of those books, but not just now I guess.

Haruki Murakami - Pinball

Question #7

A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

Honestly I feel like there is so many different books available to us now that if I do not want to read the “same” story again and again I simply reach to different spheres of my bookshelf. Like six months ago I got so tired of YA so I reached for different kind of books and discovered the beauty of Mitch Albom. So I cannot really say there is a certain trope I am tired of right now, if you are just grab a different genre.

Question #8

A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

Honestly there is no such series at the moment, or I am not aware that there is one.

Question #9

The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

I think I have to say The Vampire Diaries by L.J.Smith. The books have been published quite a long time ago, when the whole vampire business was not as big as they were couple of years ago and so the whole story is a bit mediocre. The show hit the screens exactly at the right time with an impressive cast and hit well. So yeah I think the show did a lot better than the books.

L.J.Smith - The Vampire Diaries

So there you go guys. Are there any books that you love and everybody else seems to hate? Well do not be shy and share you thoughts with me here down in the comments or just tweet me @SaraNeuzilova using #ablogbysara. See you next time my dear chums.

WRITTEN BY SÁRA

Leave a Reply

