A Very Pathetic September Wrap Up

September Wrap Up

As you will see September was not a very strong reading month for me. After getting back from my last vacation I simply could not get into any book I started. So let’s take a look at the very pathetic list of the books I actually read.

First two books I finished were graphic novels: Saga Volume 3 and 4 by Brian K. Vaughn. I started the series in August and I just cannot get enough of it. It is so good. It is the perfect mixture of action, love and lot of ass kicking. The main characters of the series Alana and Marco are star-crossed lovers running away from their past with their newborn daughter Hope. If you have not jumped on the bandwagon named Saga I seriously recommend you to do so soon. I gave both volumes ●●●●● (5/5 points)

And the only actual book I read this past month was a very short story by Zadie Smith called The Embassy of Cambodia. As an English major I have heard about Zadie Smith literally hundreds of times, yet I have never read one of her books. Once I did I kind of wish I had not. I do not understand what the fuss is about. I am not saying it was bad, but it was not great either, if you know what I mean. I cannot really say I was impressed with Smith’s writing style, and I guess there was something missing for me to like the story. As the name of the short story suggests it is about the Embassy of Cambodia somewhere in England, and a local nanny Fatou that passes by the embassy everyday on her way to the pool. I was quite intrigued by the premise, but then I got really bored when reading the 70 page long story. I gave the story ●●◌◌◌ (2/5 points)

So for an overview for September the books I actually managed to finish and my ratings:

Saga: Volume 3 by Brian K. Vaughn – 5_5

Saga: Volume 4 by Brian K. Vaughn – 5_5

The Embassy of Cambodia by Zadie Smith – 2_5

WRITTEN BY SÁRA

Leave a Reply

