October, non-spooky, Wrap Up

October Wrap Up

It is that time of the month again when I get to look back and basically regret not reading more. No not this month. I am actually kind of happy with the amount of reading I did this past month. It might not be a lot for others, but it is enough for me. Let’s get cracking with this October Wrap Up.

I started this past month with a great and funny read, Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella. I loved this book, I feel like the depiction of mental illness was perfect. It was not sad, but at the same time it was not made fun of. It was taken light-heartedly, but with dignity. As someone who is currently going through my own mental issues I appreciate the way it was portrayed by Sophie Kinsella. The only thing that was missing for me was the explanation of what actually happened that made Audrey “lose” it, and that is why I gave this book ●●●●◌ (4/5 points)

For once I actually followed my TBR list and read The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler. This is one of the books that I watched the movie before reading the book. And I must say I love the movie so much more than the book. I read only one other book by Karen Joy Fowler and that was the Man Booker Prize 2014 nominee We Are All Completely Besides Ourselves, and in comparison with this book was The Jane Austen Book Club kind of a letdown. I love Jane Austen, I love the stories, the movies, and I do love stories about her books, but this one just did not work for me. I felt like there was not enough of anything, not enough of stories of the characters, not enough of talking about Austen’s stories, that is what book clubs do, right? There were words, and lot of them but they did not pull it together for me and that is why I gave this book ●●●◌◌ (3/5 points)

After this my planned TBR list went out the window and I read books that I borrowed from the library on a complete wimp. Starting with John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines. I read two book s by John Green before reading this one, and I am still not impressed by his writing. I tend to say I am sorry about that, but in reality I am not. I simply cannot connect with any of his main characters; I do not feel them on some kind of emotional level. I finished reading An Abundance of Katherines and felt more or less nothing. OK I did like the ending, but still decided to give it ●●●◌◌ (3/5 points)

Giving John Green another chance this month I picked up Let It Snow, a collection of three holiday stories by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle. OK there is one thing you all need to know about me, I love Christmas. I love the movies, the lights, and now the books. There is nothing unusual about that right? Well I do not celebrate Christmas, because I am Jewish, but that does not stop me from loving the festive atmosphere. For the stories I enjoyed them so much. I loved how they all intertwined at the end. I am sucker for those stories that seem to be standalones, only to be connected in the end and that is why I gave it ●●●●◌ (4/5 points)

I closed the month with a bit of non-fiction writing, more specifically Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek (A Memoir) by Maya Van Wagenen. In the past few years I learned to read non-fiction, it was not easy letting go of happy endings, or at least nicely plotted endings. But none of this letting go was necessary with Popular. We get to meet this amazing, but shy, middle-grader who wants to become popular by following a how to book for girls from the 50’s. It was an amazing read, I got to see Maya go through success and downfalls, but in the end she found what she was looking for all along, with knowing, and that was herself. I loved the book, even though I am not personally familiar with this whole popularity scheme, but about that later, I enjoyed Maya’s story and gave it ●●●●◌ (4/5 points)

Well that is it folks for October, hopefully I will get to read more amazing books in November. Just to sum it all up here is a list of my October readings.

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella 4_5

The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler 3_5

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green 3_5

Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle 4_5

Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek (A Memoir) by Maya Van Wagenen 4_5

Finding AudreyThe Jane Austen Book ClubAn Abundance of KatherinesLet It SnowMaya Van Wagenen - Popular

See you next time my chums.

WRITTEN BY SÁRA

Leave a Reply

