October Cover Clash

October Cover Clash

This past week I saw a video done by Olivia over at HeyOlivia about Cover Clash and I thought it was an amazing idea and so I thought I would share with you guys the covers of books I have read this past month, the UK, the US and the Czech cover. Well no more talking, let’s get going.

 Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Finding Audrey - USA, UK

UK and US

Finding Audrey - CR

CR

I love the original cover. It is so simple yet so eye-catching. The Czech cover did try to follow the idea with the sunglasses and even the stripped shirt, but I like the original one more.

The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler

The Jane Austen Book Club - UK

UK

The Jane Austen Book Club - USA

US

I am so in love with the UK cover. There was a Czech architect Adolf Loos who believed that each person needs a different chair, and I just think that this cover goes with that theory. As many personality types you have, that many different type of chairs you need. (Yet again this book was not published in Czech)

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

 An Abundance of Katherines - UK

UK

An Abundance of Katherines - USA

US

An Abundance of Katherines - CR

CR

I am not a fan of either cover. It is funny how the Czech cover is technically the same idea as the British one, but you know we are too cheap to pay for the original cover, so we have to fake it. Out of the three I like the British one the best, but mostly because it goes with the same style as John Green’s other books.

Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle

 Let It Snow - UK

UK

Let It Snow - USA

US

Let It Snow - CR

CR

I like the British/Czech cover better than the American, it goes perfectly with the other John Green books, and I do love when books from the same series or by the same author follow some kind of a design pattern, so I am happy with this choice.

Popular: A Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek (A Memoir) by Maya Van Wagenen

Popular - UK

UK

Popular - USA

US

Popular - CR

CR

Let’s start with the fact that the Czech cover is completely horrid, I would never read that book. It looks like a cheap shitty book, which it totally is not. I loved it so much. I must say that the American cover look the best, it mixes the subtle colours with kind of a Pop-Art look.

FINAL SCORE

UK: 4

US: 2

CR: 1

WRITTEN BY SÁRA

Leave a Reply

