October OwlCrate Unboxing

November OwlCrate

My October OwlCrate box has finally arrived. Thank God I think my mailman was feeling a bit threatened by me, I kept asking him if he had a box for me. He did not find this attention very comforting. But the one day the box was finally here, I was not home. So I had to go o my local post office, not a nice place, but after waiting in a queue for about an hour I got the box. And it was just as glorious as it was last month. So let’s get down to it. October’s theme was SPOOKY, to go with the whole Halloween theme, and I was super excited about this, because I have not read many spooky books, so I was looking forward to this month’s book selection.

But first what other items did I find in the box?

OMG, it is bookmarks by Craftedvan, I have loved their bookmarks for months now, but never got around to ordering them, well guess what peeps now I have them, and I cannot wait to put them to use. The thing about me and bookmarks is that I tend to lose them so I will be using these only with the books I am reading at home. I love how the skeleton has the little heart, so cute.

Next one out is something called scented beads. Honestly I do not know what scented beads really are, or what to do with them, but these smell delicious. Apparently the smell is called Vampire’s Lair. It smells of some kind of berries and I love it, I guess it is like scented candles, but you do not have to light any fire. Well I now I know what I will be doing with these. I will just put them on a little tray and have them on my nightstand when I am reading. These beads were brought to us by Adventure Scents.

Yet again I pulled out all the confetti and messed around. As always. I do love me some confetti, and bubble wrap, oh I love bubble wrap. Best gift ever was 10 meters of bubble wrap from my dad, and no it was not when I was five, no it was this past summer when I turned twenty. Yeah I do love making a mess. But let’s carry on with the unboxing.

It is like this box was filled with things I always wanted but never got around to getting them. This next item is a Edgar Allan Poe-lka Dot canvas pouch, or as my mum called it Poech. There is not that many things I love as much as pouches. And this one is by one and only Out of Print Clothing. I do not know if you are familiar with this brand, but it is pure perfection from the tag to the last not. I love it so much, and now I can obsess over this perfection every single time I take this awesome pouch out of my bag.

The last goodie thing is a box of erasers by NPW. And they are super cute, they are shaped as skulls. I cannot wait till I get this eraser out of my pencil case, I think that people will freak out, they are huge and very neon, but they are kick ass.

And the last and biggest thing out of the box, the book. A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis, and yet again I have not heard about this book before now, but looks amazing and I cannot wait to dive into it.

Grace Mae knows madness. She keeps it locked away, along with her voice, trapped deep inside a brilliant mind that cannot forget horrific family secrets. Those secrets, along with the bulge in her belly, land her in a Boston insane asylum. When her voice returns in a burst of violence, Grace is banished to the dark cellars, where her mind is discovered by a visiting doctor who dabbles in the new study of criminal psychology. With her keen eyes and sharp memory, Grace will make the perfect assistant at crime scenes. Escaping from Boston to the safety of an ethical Ohio asylum, Grace finds friendship and hope, hints of a life she should have had. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who stalks young women. Grace, continuing to operate under the cloak of madness, must hunt a murderer while she confronts the demons in her own past. In this beautifully twisted historical thriller, Mindy McGinnis, acclaimed author of Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust, explores the fine line between sanity and insanity, good and evil—and the madness that exists in all of us.

Well know I am super excited about this one. I find something very endearing about asylums. I loved the second season of American Horror Story that took place in an asylum and I am sure I will love this book just as much. With the book there was also a letter from Mindy McGinnis herself, and a poster of the cover, and my oh my it is beautiful and haunting.

Well that is it about the October OwlCrate. And I love all of its content. I was a bit hesitant at first about the scented beads but I am sure I will find a way to use them somehow. I love that each month the selection of goodies is unique and diverse, but there is always something practical, something pretty and something bookish. I cannot wait for what OwlCrate has in store for us.

October OwlCrate

October OwlCrate Box

October OwlCrate Box

October OwlCrate Box

October OwlCrate Box

October OwlCrate Box

October OwlCrate Box

October OwlCrate Box

October OwlCrate Box

October OwlCrate Box

October OwlCrate Box

October OwlCrate Box

November OwlCrate

WRITTEN BY SÁRA

Leave a Reply

