All hail Macbeth that shall be king

Macbeth

I have not mentioned this here but I love Shakespeare. I mean I have deep appreciation for the plays that are sold under his name. Honestly I do not really care whether it is all a hoax and Shakespeare did not really exist or if it is just a pseudonym, I still believe that the plays are something unique. So when I saw that there is a new movie adaptation of a Shakespearian play I was sold. And so after months and months of not attending cinema for movie watching I got on my way. The play/movie in question here is the newest adaptation of Macbeth by Justin Kurzel.

MacbethDirector: Justin Kurzel

Writers: Jacob Koskoff, Michael Lesslie, Todd Louiso

Stars: Michael Fassbender, Marion Cotillard

Premiere Date: CR – November 5th, 2015

Macbeth is the nightmare of every theatre person. You know there is the whole superstition about mentioning the name “Macbeth” in any other context outside the play brings bad luck. Well I will take the chance and talk about Macbeth here today.

I enjoyed the movie more than I ever thought I would. It was gruesome, it was horrid and it was amazing. The tale of Macbeth is a tale of one man’s want for power. Macbeth was given a prophecy about him becoming the king, and this little prophecy drives him to killing a man after man to grasp what is “rightfully” his.

Just like many other Shakespearian plays Macbeth is extremely bloody. From the acts on the battlefield to the murder of the King, there is blood everywhere, and Kurzel’s version is not trying to sugarcoat this fact. The bloody scenes are extremely well done, in my opinion. OK I am not the biggest fan of blood and guts flying everywhere, but there are certain stories that deserve to have these scenes done properly and Macbeth is definitely one of those stories.

Another thing that adds to the excellence of this film is obviously the cast; it is quite hard for movie to be this good with a mediocre cast. The leading couple of Macbeth and his lady is portrayed by Michael Fassbender and Marion Cotillard. The whole cast was on point and I believed them every single word. The fact that the movie used the original Shakespearian language only made the movie that much better. I am not a huge fan of modernizing the language, I feel like the play/movie is than missing something.

What was surprising about this adaptation was the role of Lady Macbeth in all the horror. Normally the real villain of the story is her, it was her idea to kill the King to make the prophecy come to life faster, and Macbeth did listen to her, and so she continued in plotting their rise to fame. In Kurzel’s adaptation her being the bad guy, or lady, is not that straightforward, or more like it is not there at all. It is true that Lady Macbeth did spun all the horror in action, but her fault is not as obvious and straightforward as in other adaptations. After the first push to Macbeth to kill the King, she hides in the background and even cries when witnessing the murder of a woman and her three children. So that was an interesting turn, I am not sure whether this was drastic change from the original or not, but I sure will research the role of Lady Macbeth in the play.

If you are a fan of Shakespeare this play will definitely not disappoint, and if you are not a fan, but would like to give him a chance I think this is a good starting point. The adaptation is true to the original, yet it is fast paste and action packed. Who would not want to watch a couple of bloody murders on their Friday evening.

5_5

Macbeth

Macbeth

Macbeth

WRITTEN BY SÁRA

Leave a Reply

