The 2015 Book Academy Awards Tag

The 2015 Book Academy Awards Tag

Sometime last week I was tagged by Rebeca over at “Books and Messy Buns” to do The 2015 Book Academy Awards Tag and thought it would be appropriate to start off the new year with looking back at the old one.

I would love to thank Becca for tagging me and definitely go check her answers out.

The rules for this tag are simple so any of you can do it too.

First spare a few words about the blogger who tagged you, linking back to their blog. Then simply answer the thirteen questions presented down below and then at the end tag some other bloggers.
Here come the questions

Most Kick-Butt Heroine

I have not read that many books with kick butt heroines, but one that immediately pops into mind is Alana from Saga by Brian K. Vaughan. Not only is she a refugee from her own country but she is married to her countries enemy and they have kid together. So not only is she fighting against those who want to bring her back, she is protecting her family and she is being a mother to a newborn, if that is not butt-kick then I do not know what is.

Most Intelligent Heroine

I guess Rosemary from We Are All Completely Besides Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler. She just has a lot on her plate and the way she deals with everything requires an amazing amount of intelligence.

“Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer” – Name a character that overcomes major obstacles and learns to believe in themselves.

Definitely has to be August from Wonder by R.J. Palacio. He is such a great character and a bright kid that does not have it easy.

Most Swoony-worth male character

Have to say Willem from Just One Day by Gayle Forman. He is the most swoon-worthy character out of the bunch I met this past year. And come one he plays in a Shakespearian play, which already won him like 100 points.

Best political drama

I have not really read a political drama, but a book that discussed politics was The Rage and the Pride by Oriana Fallaci, and Italian reporter, who moved to the States after being banned from Italy wrote a reaction to 9/11 couple of days after it happened. She discussed politics in a great way.

Best star-crossed lovers

I have to say Alana and Marko from the Saga by Brian K. Vaughan, they are literally star-crossed lovers, being both hunted by their nations that come from different planets.

Best surprise (twist, cliff hanger, or ending)

The end of The Wicked + The Divine: Fandemonium by Kieron Gillen. I definitely did not see that ending coming.

Best fairy tale retelling

I started reading Cinder by Marissa Meyer at the end of the year, but still have not finished. But I love what I have read so far. Definitely will finish this one soon.

Best “didn’t expect to like it, but loved it” book

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin, I picked this book up on a complete whim in the library and I fell in love. What booklover would not like reading about a bookstore owner and a lost baby.

Best side-kick or best friend character

Out of the books I have read this past year the best side-kick kinda friend was Tiny Cooper from Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan, he was not really a good friend in my opinion but he was quite an enjoyable side character.

Best debut author book

I do not think I have read any.

Best “little known” book

Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom. Even though it is quite a famous book, and by that I mean it is a world phenomena, nobody really seems to talk about it here in the book community, which is sad, cause I just love that book, and any other book written by Mitch Albom.

Best series, overall

As I have not really read any series I have to leave this one out.

Best book, overall

Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom, this book just opened new reading doors for me.

I would like to tag:

That is it for this tag. I loved doing it, made me realise what actually managed to read this past year, and look forward to the new year that is ahead of me.

WRITTEN BY SÁRA

Leave a Reply

