The end of the year wrap up

THE END OF THE YEAR WRAP UP

Honestly guys, I have no clue where the last two months went. I remember writing down my November TBR and suddenly it’s January 3rd. Still do not know what really happened but I think I owe you some wrap ups. So with no further ado, here they come, all the books I managed to read before 2015 run away.I started November off with The Rosie Effect, the sequel to Rosie Project, by Graeme Simsion, and I loved it. Don is just so loveable, with his autistic tendencies. I must say that I loved the Rosie Project more, just because Rosie was nicer in the first book. I know that she did have quite good reasons to be grumpy in the sequel, no spoilers, but it took a bit off for me. I do not want to give too much away for those who did not read the first book, but let me just say this, if you want a socially awkward male character and an amazingly straight forward female character who takes no shit from nobody, this duology is just perfect for you. Even with Rosie not being as enjoyable a character she was in the previous book I gave this book a strong ●●●●◌ 4/5 points. A very enjoyable read.

Then I moved to a YA contemporary by an amazing duo David Levithan and Rachel Cohn. Let me tell you guys I just loved the opening scene with Dash when he finds the notebook in Strand. Whenever I go to New York I love to browse through Strand, for those who do not know what it is, it is the most magical place on Earth. It is a bookstore, both new and old books, and it just has this magical atmosphere like everyone is welcomed there. So back to the book. The dual point of view was actually quite well done, I liked that we did have both a girl and a boy point of view, and a male and female author; it was something that pleased me. For the story itself, it was enjoyable; I read it at the prefect time. We get to see how two quite different characters get to kinda know each other through a book of dares, and later messages. When it got to Dash and Lily actually meeting I was not as excited as I thought I would be. I just got used to them not knowing who the other person actually was, and I started liking that. But I needed something light and cutesy and this book was just that, cute and easily flowing. I gave it a nicely earned ●●●●◌ 4/5 points.

Next, I went on a bit of a walk down the memory lane, with the Vile Village by Lemony Snicket. A Series of Unfortunate Events were one of the first books I remember reading myself. And I just love them so much. I love how twisted and eerie they actually are, while still being children’s books. Because that is what they actually are books for kids. In this seventh installment in the series the three orphans Violet, Klaus and Sunny get sent off to a “Vile Village”, you know how the saying goes; it takes a village to raise a kid. Well let me just say that this village managed to do a terrible job. As always Count Olaph gets to town and ruins everything. And I just enjoyed it so much, the writing is pure perfection. I especially love the moments when the author just goes quite off topic, only to say that if you want to put this book down and read a book about a cute little elf, guess he never read any fantasy book, elves are not always so cute, this would be the perfect time to put it away. Definitely will be grabbing the next one in the near future, I gave this book a ●●●●● 5/5 points.

The last book I got to in November was Will Grayson, Will Grayson by the duo of John Green and David Levithan. I think I mentioned this before but I still cannot get into John Greens books, I do not know what it is exactly about his writing but it is just megh for me. The only book I read by David Levithan was Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares that I read earlier in November and I enjoyed that one, so I thought I would try Will Grayson, Will Grayson, and I thought it was an OK book. The only thing that was an actual letdown was the fact that most of the second half of the book was about Tiny’s musical, something that actually got its own book, so it was a bit disappointing for me to see so much of it in this book. For Will Graysons themselves I did not really like either of them, it was not that they were not likeable I just could not relate to either of them, something that I struggle with in every single John Green’s book. I thought this would be about finding your own true nature, about how the name is not the biggest factor in our identity, but I did not get that from this book. All I got were two quite horny teenagers. But what can I do, I gave this book a ●●●◌◌ 3/5 points.

And now for December, we all know what is at the end of December, and so I kicked off the Christmas atmosphere with the Nutcracker and the Mouse King by E.T.A. Hoffmann. A Christmas classic; even though nobody seems to read it anymore. I hope that some of you have heard about the ballet The Nutcracker, you have, thank God. Well this book is the let us call it inspiration for the libretto by Petitpa for the famous ballet. So here is one thing about me, I love the Nutcracker, that is the ballet, I have seen it about twenty times. Every year Christmas time comes and I go see it at the National Theatre, here in Prague. So as I said I have seen it so many times, but I have never read the book that it is based on. So I had to change that, and let me tell you I love the ballet so much better. The story was just too sugarcoated, and pink. It was like reading the book version of cotton candy. The story is about two siblings, a boy and a girl, and as the stereotypes go the boy is the naughty one and the girl is the all pretty and proper child. So the girl gets a figurine like nutcracker, and her brother breaks it, and let just say that shit goes down after that. I get that it is a children’s story, but it was just too fluffy and pink for and that is why I gave it only ●●●◌◌ 3/5. That said I will go see the ballet piece next year, without a doubt.

I moved from Christmas theme to depression theme with The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides. The only reason I read this book was the movie. I love the movie directed by Sofia Copolla, it has such an interesting misty atmosphere. Everything is covered in mystery. The story talks about five Lisbon sisters, they are young, beautiful and mysterious. All the boys from their street are in love with them, but they do not quite know why. The whole story is told by the boys, and it talks about the how the sisters went from those beautiful and young girls, to desperate girls who take their lives. We all know that their deaths are coming, but we never learn why. We get a teeny tiny glimpse into their lives, the all too strict mother, the father who seems a bit distant. Sometimes it reminded me of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen if Mister Bingley and Mister Darcy had not showed up. It was an interesting read but it did not deliver what I wanted it to. In the end I gave it a ●●●●◌ 4/5, only because the writing was so intriguing.

The last thing I got into this past year was The Wicked + The Divine, both volumes The Faust Act and The Fandemonium, by Kieron Gillen. Every ninety years all the gods get down to earth, get themselves a human body, live two years and then die. The gods become pop stars, some are loved some are hated, but they are all famous. We get a glimpse of this world through eyes of a young fan of the gods. The awesome thing about all this is that people know that they are gods, and they mostly love them. So this young girl does not dream about anything else except becoming one of them, to get her chance in the spotlight. She gets too close to one of the gods and then things get into motion. I know that lot of people were confused by this series and thus did not like that, but I just loved the fact that I do not know what exactly is going on. I gave both volumes ●●●●● 5/5 points and I cannot wait for the next volume to come up.

And that is all folks, that is what I ended up reading in the last part of the year 2015, here is to 2016 and more books to read. So what have you read at the end of the year.

The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion 4_5

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn 4_5

The Vile Village by Lemony Snicket 5_5

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by David Levithan and John Green 3_5

The Nutcracker and the Mouse King by E.T.A. Hoffmann 3_5

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides 4_5

The Wicked + The Divine: The Faust Act/ The Fandemonium by Kieron Gillen 5_5

Graeme Simsion - The Rosie Effect

David Levithan and Rachel Cohn - Dash and Lily's Book of Dares

Lemony Snicket - ŘNP Zpustlá vesnice

John Green and David Levithan - Will Grayson, Will Grayson

E.T.A. Hoffmann - The Nutcracker and the Mouse King

Jeffrey Eugenides - The Virgins Suicides

The Wicked and The Divine - The Faust Act

The Wicked and The Divine - Fandemonium

WRITTEN BY SÁRA

Leave a Reply

