TOP TEN TUESDAY 2015 RELEASES THAT I MEANT TO GET TO BUT DID NOT

TOP TEN TUESDAY

Trying to keep up the resolution of posting TOP TEN TUESDAY (a weekly meme created by the folks over at “The Broke and The Bookish”) every week, here I am with another one. This time the topic is Releases of 2015 that I was planning on reading, but eventually did not get to. This list will be interesting. There are some books on this list that I even managed to buy for myself, but then just did not feel like reading them, and some are books that I was thinking about buying but did not even manage to do that.

So here we go (randomly breaks into a song here, just please ignore me) Just to make it clear, the books on this list are in no particular order.

 

  • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – I think that most of you have heard about this one by now. The world that is divided by the color of your blood, there are silver bloods, that have special powers and are the royalty, and then there are the red bloods who are just the servants, without any power, and then we have our main character Mare, a red blood that finds out that she has a deadly power of her own. I did buy this book all the way back in February, and I really do not know what happened, but I am starting it now, so hopefully I will have read this one soon.
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas – All I know about this book is that it is a Beauty and the Beast retelling, and I was sold. So I do not really know what happened, but I did not even manage to buy this one, book I promise I will get my hands on it, sooner or later.
  • An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir – I do not know much about this book except that it is getting an amazing hype all over booktube. And it just looks beautiful and I want it. Do not really know why I have not read it yet.
  • The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black – So this one is about dangerous faeries, and it is written by Holly Black. Honestly all I need to know. As I mentioned in one of my previous posts, the past year I did not really get to read much of YA fantasy, just was not in the mood for it. So I guess that is an explanation for nearly all of the books on this list. This book being no different.
  • A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab – Parallel universes, rare magicians, three versions of London. How come I have not read this book yet? It is just ridiculous. Ok maybe making this list was a huge mistake, looking at it now, this is a list of my reading failures.

So I just noticed that the first five books on the list are all YA fantasy, and the other five are all YA contemporary. So I will move to the contemporary part now.

  • All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven – To my defense I did start reading this book, but I just had to put it down. I started reading this book about a month after my mental breakdown, and after seriously thinking about suicide, so this read just was not what I should have been reading, so I just had to put it down. I would love to get back to it now, when I am in a much better mental state. I believe it will be an amazing read, just at the right time. And what exactly is it about? Well two people, Violet and Theodore who meet at the school tower, when they want to commit suicide at the same time. See, not the best book to read when one is thinking about suicide.
  • Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli – I have heard so many good things about this book, I just do not know why I have not picked it up yet. We have a sixteen year old Simon, who does not want to share his sexuality with the world, but once a compromising email gets in the wrong hands everything just turns upside down. Why have not I picked this up yet? What was wrong with me?
  • More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera – It is all about finding your way back to happiness once you have been trapped in the sad world for quite a while. It is about what people will do to be happy. It sounds like somewhat thought provoking read, which is something I have to be mentally prepared for, and I was not ready for this at the end of last year, but I am definitely ready now.
  • Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon – Yet again a book with a great premise. Basically the main character is allergic to everything, and I mean everything. She has never left the house, and the only two people she gets to see are her mom and her nurse. That is until a boy moves in next door. Again, I do not understand why I have not picked this one up yet.
  • The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi – Basically our characters spend the night saying yes to every single stupid idea they have, and it leads to some pretty awesome adventure. Honestly this is all I need to know, and I managed to get my hands on this one last months, and I think I should just read it soon, like everything else on this list.

Now that is the ten books that came out in 2015 and I just did not read them. I feel deeply ashamed, especially after rereading the summaries, I simply do not understand why I have not picked them up yet. It is like I wanted to read them all and now; I should read them all at the same time. Well this has been interesting, and what about you, what books you did not get to?

That is all my peeps.

WRITTEN BY SÁRA

 

 

8 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY 2015 RELEASES THAT I MEANT TO GET TO BUT DID NOT

  1. Rosie @ Rosie Reads says:

    We share a lot of the same woes… I, too, did not get to read ‘An Ember in the Ashes’, or ‘The Night We Said Yes’, or ‘Simon…’ or ‘More Happy Than Not’ OR ‘Everything Everything’ (which I completely forgot to put on my list!!!) Wow, we have a lot of reading to do, don’t we? (If only we had more time in a day…)

    I can vouch for ‘Red Queen’, ‘A Darker Shade of Magic’ and ‘ACOTAR’ – they are all AMAZING. I really want to do a re-read of ‘A Darker Shade’ before the sequel comes out next month! Who knows if I’ll actually get to it though!? XD

    Like

Leave a Reply

